Skip to main content

Bookmarking in the TRX Studio

Bookmarking Segments of larger hearings

Written by Chris Shaw

Bookmarking Segments in TRX Studio

When a hearing is part of a larger recording, you can bookmark that segment for later review or transcription.

How can this help you?

Once your content is loaded into TRX, you can review, bookmark, and save those segments for later review. For example, if you have 8 hours of recording but only a 10 minute hearing to be reviewed, you can bookmark that hearing when it is located. This will save you time later when you come back to the Request and need to locate / review that small hearing.

Studio Layout

Let's explore the TRX Studio view and identify a few key items:

  1. Hearing START Time: The start time of the hearing.

  2. Hearing Date END Time: The end time of the hearing.

  3. Current Playback Time: The current time being played, which changes as the file is played, rewound, etc.

  4. Duration of hearing: The total length of all the content currently loaded into the Player

Set Start Time

  1. Move the Current Player Time to the appropriate start time for the hearing/segment.

  2. Double-click the "Recording START Time" field to set the start time to the Current Player Time.

    • For example, if the Current Player Time is 8:30:00 pm, double-clicking the START field will set the START TIME to 8:30:00 pm.

    • Note that when the START field is double-clicked, it updates to the Current Player Time.

Set End Time

  1. Move the Current Player Time to the appropriate end time for the hearing/segment.

  2. Double-click the "Recording END Time" field to set the end time to the Current Player Time.

    • For example, if the Current Player Time is 8:45:00 am, double-clicking the END field will set it to this time.

Once the START Time and END Time are assigned, the Studio displays/highlights the total length of the designated segment

Saving a Bookmark

Once the segment's start and end times are identified, follow these steps to Save the Bookmark:

  • Click the Bookmark icon to bookmark the selected segment. see below:

The system will then indicate the bookmark has been added with a green header.

The bookmark is also displayed in the Studio as a black range line showing the start and end times of the bookmark, as shown below:
​

Multiple Bookmarks / Overlapping

The system will not allow Bookmarks to be created if they are overlapping with an existing Bookmark. If this happens, you may want to remove / delete the existing bookmark

Removing / Deleting Bookmarks:

If you need to remove an existing Bookmark, navigate to the Studio and then open the date in question. On the Workbench page, you'll see all the bookmarks associated to that hearing date. Just click the trash icon to remove that Bookmark.

We hope that's helpful! Let us know if you have any questions at all.

Did this answer your question?